Anatomy Department

Background History

Medical College was first established in Myanmar in 1924-25. At that time, the classes were taught at the temporary wooden buildings in the Rangoon (now Yangon) General Hospital compound. The first Principal of the Rangoon (Yangon) Medical College was Col. LAH Lack, and he taught both anatomy and physiology. Teaching of basic science subjects, including the Anatomy, was moved to the new Medical College building (current Lanmadaw Campus of University of Medicine 1, Yangon) in 1929.
During World War II, teaching of medical sciences was temporarily stopped in 1942. After the end of World War II, the Rangoon (Yangon) University was reopened and the Medical College became Faculty of Medicine under the Rangoon University.
In 1964, with the establishment of the new education system, the Faculty of Medicine became the Institute of Medicine 1, Yangon. The Department of Anatomy, Institute of Medicine 1 moved to former Engineering College buildings on Pyay Road (now University of Medicine 1, Yangon, Pyay Campus) in 1971.
The master degree for anatomy (M.Sc Anatomy) course was first opened in 1971 in Institute of Medicine 1, Yangon. The title of the degree changed to M.Med.Sc (Anatomy) in 1977. In 1990’s two staff members of department of Anatomy, UM1, obtained PhD from japan through the Monbushu Scholarship program. In 1999, one staff member obtained PhD (Honorary) degree, and first PhD course in Anatomy was opened with four candidates in the same year.

Department Heads

NoNameGraduateFrom - To
1Lt Col L H LackMBChB, INS1924-1939
2Lt Col J H Barrett1939 – 1949
3Lt Col G M Irvirie
4Dr Tan Kenghoon
5Dr H N Dass
6Prof D R LewisMBBS, FRCS1948 – 1959
7Prof H Zaw TunMBBS, Ph D (St Andrews)1959 – 1967
8Prof Tin MaungMBBS, Ph D (St Andrews)1967 – 1983
9Prof Khin Maung SeinMBBS, Ph D (Liverpool)1983 – 1985
10Prof Maung Maung NyoMBBS, Ph D (London), MA
1985 – 1998
11Prof Aye ChoMBBS, MMed Sc(Anatomy) PhD (Hon)1998 – 1999
12Prof Nilar ShweMBBS, MMed Sc(Anatomy) PhD (Hon1999 2008
13Prof.Saw Ai YongMBBS,Dip Med Edu, MMed Sc(Anatomy) PhD (Yan)2008-2013
14Prof.Than Than WinMBBS,Dip Med Edu, MMed Sc(Anatomy) PhD (Yan)2013-2014
15Prof.Khin ThidaMBBS,Dip Med Edu, MMed Sc(Anatomy) PhD2014-2016
16Prof.Myint San NweMBBS,Dip Med Edu, MMed Sc (Anatomy) PhD2016-2019
17Prof. Khin ThandaMBBS, MMedSc (Anatomy), PhD, Dip. Med. Ed.2019 to date