Pathology Department

When the M.B.,B.S course was introduced in 1923, Pathology was taught in the third year and final years for a total duration of three years. The major subject was taught as Special Pathology and minor subject as General Pathology which included Bacteriology and Parasitology. At that time, General and Special Pathology were taught for one year in the third year, and Bacteriology and medical Zoology were taught under pathology subject. But in the new M.B.,B.S curriculum formed in 1935-36, Pathology was included in the Final Part I curriculum. Major C de C Martin, MB IMS, acted as Professor of Pathology in 1930 and M.K.P Kunda, MB, was Assistant Lecturer. In 1958, a separate department, the Department of Microbiology took over the teaching of Microbiology. In the post-war period, Pathology was taught as General Pathology and Hematology in the third year and as Systemic Pathology in the Final Part I course. Dr. Khin Maung Win, who attended the LSMB course during the war and later obtained the MBBS degree from India, was the central pillar in the post-war pathology field. In 1956, he was appointed as the first Professor of Pathology and became the most senior Professor of the Rangoon Medical College. After the Institute of Medicine (1) was opened, he became the first Professor and Head of the Pathology Department who was a Myanmar national. In 1991, the Diploma in Pathology course was upgraded to Master of Medical Science (Pathology) and in 1997 the Ph.D (Pathology) course was initiated while Professor U Tha Aung was Head of Department. Currently, the Pathology Department also takes responsibility of the UM (1) medical museum.