Zoology Department

In accordance with the new enactment for university education  promulgated in 1964, the Medical college of Yangon University stood independently as the University of Medicine (1), Yangon. From that time onward, this university grew with the establishment of various Departments , among which is the Department of Zoology . During 1976- 1981, a student was required to complete courses for two years in Regional Colleges  to enter the University of Medicine . Premedical education of one and half years was started from 1982. Today as the need of the country increases, about 500 students are accepted, with the requirement of one instead of one and a half years  of premedical education .Apart from first year medical students, our teaching staff had taught Zoology subject to those of dental students from 1964 to 1996, paramedical and pharmacy students from 1993 to 2000 respectively. Department of Zoology was formerly constituted with 1 Head of the Department, 3 Assistant Lecturers and  7 Demonstrators . At the end of year 2001, the Department has  moved to Thaton campus. At present, the Department is further strengthened to include 1 Head of the Department, 4 Lecturers, 10 Assistant Lecturers and 20 Demonstrators . Beginning with 1964, Daw Khin Khin Swe, Daw Hla Hla May, Daw Khin Htwe Myint, Daw Khin Myint Swe, Daw A.J Tapa, Daw Khin Toe Myint, Daw Tin Naing Tun, U Thein Htun and Daw Khin May Ohn were successively assumed the responsibility as Head of the Department. Today, Daw Lei Lei Aye continues this responsibility as Head of the Department.